Border Trade Advisory Committee

Ed DrusinaEd Drusina

Commissioner - International Boundary and Water Commission

Edward Drusina was sworn in as United States commissioner of the International Boundary and Water Commission, United States and Mexico, on Jan. 19, 2010 at IBWCHeadquarters in El Paso, Texas. Drusina was appointed to the post by President Barack Obama on Jan. 15, 2010.

A civil engineer from El Paso, Texas, Drusina has extensive executive experience as an engineer in the private and public sectors. Most recently, he worked as area director for Paragon Project Resources, Inc. Prior to that, he was president of OMNI Construction Services, LLC and held executive positions with Moreno Cardenas, Inc. (MCi). While with MCi, he served as construction manager for the off-site infrastructure for the world’s largest inland desalination plant recently constructed in Fort Bliss, Texas. He also worked for the City of El Paso for seven years as deputy chief administrative officer for Municipal Services and director of Public Works where he oversaw eight departments and divisions responsible for streets, solid waste, engineering, environmental services, building permits and inspections, fleet maintenance, facilities and special projects, and facilities maintenance. From 1998-2004, he represented the City of El Paso on the Far West Texas Water Planning Group.

Drusina has 20 years of federal experience, holding engineering positions at Davis-Monthan Air Force Base in Arizona and at Fort Bliss, Texas, where he worked as chief of design branch AA for the Directorate of Public Works and Logistics, and as deputy director of the Source Selection Evaluation Board. Drusina holds a Bachelor of Science degree in civil engineering from the University of Texas at El Paso and is a registered professional engineer in the state of Texas. He was named Texas Public Works Association Public Works Director of the Year for 2003 and was selected Federal Engineer of the Year by the United States Army – Training and Doctrine Command for 1997.