Border Trade Advisory Committee

Bret EricksonBret Erickson

President and CEO - Texas International Produce Association

Bret Erickson grew up in the Rio Grande Valley in McAllen, Texas. Upon graduation, he worked as an agronomist for DuPont Pioneer Hi-Bred in Weslaco, Texas, where he was involved in the growing and shipping of seed corn for the Latin-American market. In 2008, he relocated to Kauai, Hawaii, where he served as the plant operations manager for the Kekaha DuPont Pioneer foundation seed facility.

In late 2011, Erickson returned to the Rio Grande Valley as a project manager with Texas Citrus Mutual and the Texas Vegetable Association in Mission, Texas. He was focused on pest and disease issues for citrus and vegetables, immigration reform, water issues, grant writing and numerous other activities.

In July of 2012 Erickson joined the Texas International Produce Association (TIPA) as president and CEO. His work is focused on pursuing the economic and political interests of the domestic and imported fresh fruit and vegetable industries in Texas. Under his leadership, TIPA membership has nearly tripled, the VIVA Fresh Produce Expo has become one of the most successful regional/international produce shows in the country and TIPA has made major strides in state and federal legislation aimed at improving the business climate for the fresh produce industry.

In addition to his duties at TIPA, Erickson also serves as executive vice president for the Texas Vegetable Association, manager for the South Texas Onion Committee Federal Marketing Order and the Texas Produce Policy Council (TEXPAC). He was appointed by Secretary Vilsack to serve on the USDA Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Fruits and Vegetables (ATAC). He also maintains a seat on the United Fresh Government Relations Council and sits on the Board of Directors for the United Fresh Produce Association, the Canadian Fruit & Vegetable DRC and the Border Trade Alliance (BTA).

Erickson earned a Bachelor of Science in agricultural & applied economics from Texas Tech University in 1997.