Thursday, June 8, 2006

9:30 a.m.

Opening Session

Michael W. Behrens,
Executive Director, Executive Director, TxDOT

50th Anniversary of the Interstate System
Texas Transportation Institute (video) WMF, Quicktime

The Interstate Generation
Michael W. Behrens, Executive Director, TxDOT

Additional Remarks:
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
Harold Linnenkohl, President (presentation slides - pdf)

Associated General Contractors of America
Steve Massie, Senior Vice President  

American Road and Transportation Builders Association
Eugene McCormick, President

International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association
Stephen F. Mayer, Immediate Past President

“The Next 50 Years”
Texas Department of Transportation (video) WMF, Quicktime, MPEG 4

Keynote Address:
Joseph Giglio, Vice Chairman, Hudson Institute WMF, Quicktime

12:30 p.m.

Road Hand Awards Luncheon
Honorable Norman Y. Mineta, Secretary, United States Department of Transportation WMF, Quicktime

Road Hand Awards Recognition
Steven E. Simmons, Deputy Executive Director, TxDOT

2:30 p.m.

Breakout Sessions

The Road to Economic Opportunity
Moderator: Phil Wilson, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor (audio - mp3)
Speakers: Ray Perryman, President, The Perryman Group (audio - mp3)
Robert V. Wingo, President, TexasOne (presentation slides - pdf) (audio - mp3)
Edward B. Romanov, Jr., President and Chief Operating Officer, The Allen Group / Dallas Logistics Hub (presentation slides - pdf) (audio - mp3)
Q & A (audio - mp3)

The National Tolling Conversation (audio - mp3)
Moderator: Stephen F. Mayer, Immediate Past President, International Bridge, Tunnel, and Turnpike Association
Speakers: Marshall Crawford, Managing Director, JPMorgan (presentation slides - pdf)
Dave Kristick, Director of Operations, E-470 Public Highway
Authority (presentation slides - pdf)

The Future of Road Building (audio - mp3)
Moderator: Amadeo Saenz Jr., Assistant Executive Director for Engineering Operations, TxDOT
Speakers: Zack Burkett, President and CEO, Zack Burkett Co.
Jim Andoga, President, Austin Bridge and Road
Doug Pitcock Jr. , President, Chair, CEO, Williams Brothers Construction Co.
Bob Heitmann, Vice President, Zachry American Infrastructure

6:00 p.m. Reception
7:00 p.m.

Dinner and Keynote Address
Honorable Rick Perry, Governor of Texas WMF, Quicktime

Friday, June 9, 2006

8:30 a.m.

Breakout Sessions

Legislative Action
Moderator: Lawrence Olsen, Executive Vice President, Texas Good Roads Transportation Association
Speakers: Senator John Carona, Chairman, Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security, Texas Senate (audio with Lawrence Olsen introduction above)
Representative Larry Phillips,
Vice Chairman, Committee on Transportation, Texas House of Representatives (audio - mp3)
Michael L. Williams, Commissioner, Railroad Commission of Texas
Gerry Pate, President, Pate Engineers, Inc. (audio - mp3)
(audio - mp3)

You Bet Your Assets: Leveraging Existing Infrastructure (audio - mp3)
Moderator: Ted Houghton, Commissioner, Texas Transportation Commission
Speakers: Judge Robert Eckels, Harris County
Geoffrey Segal, Director of Government Reform, Reason Foundation (presentation slides - pdf)
Greg Carey, Managing Director, Goldman, Sachs & Company (presentation slides - pdf)

Texas Corridors (audio - mp3)
Moderator: Steven E. Simmons, Deputy Executive Director, TxDOT
Speakers: Tiffany Melvin, Executive Director, North American's Super Corridir Coalition (presentation slides - pdf)
James Beauchamp, President, MOTRAN/La Entrada al Pacifico (presentation slides - pdf)
Michael Reeves, President, Ports to Plains Corridor Coalition (presentation slides - pdf)
Judge John Thompson, Vice Chair, Alliance for I-69 Texas (presentation slides - pdf)

10:30 a.m.

Breakout Sessions

The Future of Transportation Financing (audio - mp3)
Moderator: Graham Hill, Majority Staff Director, U.S. House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
U.S. House Subcommittee on Highways, Transit & Pipeline
Jack Schenendorf, Commission on the Future of the Highway System (presentation slides - pdf)
Joe Krier, Texas Study Commission on Transportation Financing (presentation slides - pdf)
James M. Whitty, Manager, Office of Innovative Partnerships and Alternative Funding, Oregon Department of Transportation (presentation slides - pdf)

Regional Mobility Authorities (audio - mp3)
Moderator: Mike Heiligenstein, Executive Director, CTRMA
Speakers: Jerdy Gary, President, Grayson County RMA (presentation slides - pdf)
Terry Brechtel, Executive Director, Alamo RMA (presentation slides - pdf)
David Allex, President, Cameron County RMA (presentation slides - pdf)
Jeff Austin, III, Chair, Northeast Texas RMA (presentation slides - pdf)

Aviation, Rail, and Public Transportation (audio - mp3)
Moderator: Judge Cletis Millsap, Hopkins County
Speakers: Dave Fulton, Director, Aviation Division, TxDOT (presentation slides - pdf)
Roger Nober, Former Chair, Surface Transportation Board and Partner, Steptoe & Johnson in Washington D.C. (presentation slides - pdf)
Eric Gleason, Director, Public Transportation Division, TxDOT (presentation slides - pdf)

12:30 p.m.

Lunch and Closing Address
Honorable Roger Williams, Secretary of State WMF, Quicktime